We have cracked the half million mark

For the last two years, TÜV Rheinland has confirmed systemic CO2 savings of over 560,000 tonnes for our trading activities according to our certified calculation methodology.

We were able to achieve the systemic CO2 savings of around 197,394 tonnes of CO2 in 2021 and 363,267 tonnes in 2022 with the help of our customers, because we market their flexibilities on the power market in such a way that the use of green power increases overall compared to a scenario without the use of flexibilities.

Flexibility as virtual storage

For example, when there is a lot of wind or PV power available, we ensure with our short-term trading that more power is consumed than in times when fossil power generation has to be used. From the point of view of the overall system, flexibility has the same effect as, for example, a battery storage system that stores electricity when the share of renewables is high and discharges it when there is a shortage of generation. Flexibility therefore also stabilises the system.

Market prices as an energy transition motivator

When wind and PV plants are running at full capacity, the price level on the electricity market drops. Because the electricity market uses price signals to encourage the use of green electricity and makes production processes attractive during low-price phases, it has a highly effective steering effect on usage behaviour. This must be promoted within the framework of the energy transition. Since consumption and generation always have to be matched to the second and the forecast error in weather-dependent electricity generation continues to increase with the increasing expansion of renewables, it is important to encourage flexible industrial processes, for example, to increase the load precisely in these time windows and to reduce it in return when there is a shortage of renewables and fossil generation has to step in. This motivation is provided by the price signals of short-term trading.

What does that have to do with CO2?

The steering effect of short-term trading described above kills two birds with one stone. On the one hand, it supports the electricity grid by helping to better coordinate generation and consumption and reduce costly redispatch measures. On the other hand, the use of flexibility in short-term trading enables the increased use of green electricity, which displaces fossil base load and thus saves CO2. Germany therefore needs a flexibility offensive in order to manage the energy transition, apart from austerity measures - flexibility is important and is also fun from an economic point of view!

More articles

Battery storage ranking

ESFORIN SE has achieved 2nd place (!) with a portfolio of over 100 megawatts in the battery marketer ranking of the Zeitung für kommunale Wirtschaft (ZfK). Find out more in the online article.

WAZ reports about ESFORIN

"Die Energiewende beschleunigen", recommendable report about ESFORIN's impact to enhance the energy transition in the newspaper WAZ.

Karriere in der Energiebranche starten

Energize your Career!

Energy bundle wanted. Start your career with us now and actively shape the energy transition! Find out more in the blog post now.

As specific as your need:
Our answer

We are specialised in developing solutions customised to your personal requirements. And you can also righty expect this based on the information you receive from us.

We are happy to advise you

Theodora Trah

Dr. Theodora Trah | Marketing & Projects
+49.201.22038-153
theodora.trah@esforin.com

ESFORIN SE

+49.201.22038-100
info@esforin.com
Ruhrallee 201 | 45136 Essen

We are happy to advise you

Theodora Trah

Dr. Theodora Trah | Marketing & Projects
+49.201.22038-153
theodora.trah@esforin.com

ESFORIN SE | +49.201.22038-100 | info@esforin.com | Ruhrallee 201 | 45136 Essen

As specific as your need: Our answer

We are specialised in developing solutions customised to your personal requirements. And you can also righty expect this based on the information you receive from us.

Wir haben die halbe Million geknackt

Für die letzten zwei Jahre hat der TÜV Rheinland uns für unsere Handelstätigkeiten eine systemische CO2-Einsparung von über 560.000 Tonnen nach unserer zertifizierten Berechnungsmethodik bestätigt.

Die systemische CO2-Einsparung von rund 197.394 Tonnen CO2 in 2021 und 363.267 Tonnen in 2022 konnten wir mit Hilfe unserer Kunden stemmen, denn wir vermarkten deren Flexibilitäten am Strommarkt so, dass die Nutzung von Grünstrom, gegenüber einem Szenario ohne Flexibilitätseinsatz, insgesamt steigt.

Flexibilität als virtueller Speicher

Wenn beispielsweise viel Wind- oder PV-Strom zur Verfügung steht, sorgen wir mit unserem Kurzfristhandel dafür, dass mehr Strom verbraucht wird als in Zeiten, in denen auf fossile Stromerzeugung zurückgegriffen werden muss. Die Flexibilität hat aus Sicht des Gesamtsystems dabei dieselbe Wirkung wie beispielsweise ein Batteriespeicher, der bei einem hohen Erneuerbarenanteil Strom einspeichert und bei Erzeugungsmangel entlädt. Flexibilität ist damit auch systemstabilisierend.

Marktpreise als Energiewende-Motivator

Wenn Wind- und PV-Anlagen auf Hochtouren laufen, sinkt das Preisniveau am Strommarkt. Dadurch, dass der Strommarkt über Preissignale die Nutzung von Grünstrom anreizt und Produktionsprozesse zu Niedrigpreisphasen attraktiv macht, hat er hochwirksame Lenkungswirkung hin zu dem Nutzungsverhalten. Dies gilt es im Rahmen der Energiewende zu fördern. Nachdem Verbrauch und Erzeugung stets sekundenscharf aufeinander abgeglichen werden müssen und bei der wetterabhängigen Stromerzeugung der Prognosefehler mit dem zunehmenden Ausbau der Erneuerbaren weiter zunimmt, ist es wichtig beispielsweise flexible Industrieprozesse dazu zu bewegen, die Last genau in diesen Zeitfenstern zu erhöhen und im Gegenzug zu reduzieren, wenn ein Erneuerbarenmangel herrscht und fossile Erzeugung einspringen muss. Diese Motivation bieten die Preissignale des Kurzfristhandels.

Was hat das mit CO2 zu tun?

Die beschriebene Lenkungswirkung des Kurzfristhandel schlägt zwei Fliegen mit einer Klappe. Einerseits stützt er das Stromnetz, indem er hilft Erzeugung und Verbrauch besser aufeinander abzustimmen und kostspielige Redispatchmaßnahmen zu reduzieren. Andererseits ermöglicht der Einsatz von Flexibilität im Kurzfristhandel die verstärkte Nutzung von Grünstrom, was fossile Grundlast verdrängt und somit CO2 einspart. Deutschland braucht also eine Flexibilisierungsoffensive, um die Energiewende, abseits von Sparmaßnahmen, zu stemmen – Flexibilität ist wichtig und macht zudem betriebswirtschaftlich Spaß!

Weitere Artikel

Tagesspiegel

„Mehrere Hundert Megawatt an Leistung sind bei uns inzwischen im Portfolio und reagieren, wenn auch ganz unterschiedlich, blitzschell auf Strompreisveränderungen“, so Christian Hövelhaus in den wissenswerten Bericht im Tagesspiegel.

Deutsche Welle

„Wie Algorithmen die Energiewende vorantreiben“, empfehlenswerter Online-Artikel der Deutschen Welle über ESFORIN SE.

Engineering Policy

Unsere 1. Podcast-Episode 2024 darf Heribert Hauck begrüßen. Er blickt mit uns auf das Energiesystem und Hürden bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung der Energiewende.

So individuell wie Ihr Bedarf:
Unsere Antwort

Wir sind darauf spezialisiert, auf Ihre individuellen Anforderungen zugeschnittene Lösungen zu entwickeln. Und das dürfen Sie auch von den Informationen erwarten, die Sie von uns erhalten.

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Theodora Trah

Dr. Theodora Trah | Marketing & Projects
+49.201.22038-153
theodora.trah@esforin.com

ESFORIN SE

+49.201.22038-100
info@esforin.com
Ruhrallee 201 | 45136 Essen

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Theodora Trah

Dr. Theodora Trah | Marketing & Projects
+49.201.22038-153
theodora.trah@esforin.com

ESFORIN SE | +49.201.22038-100 | info@esforin.com | Ruhrallee 201 | 45136 Essen

So individuell wie Ihr Bedarf: Unsere Antwort

Wir sind darauf spezialisiert, auf Ihre individuellen Anforderungen zugeschnittene Lösungen zu entwickeln. Und das dürfen Sie auch von den Informationen erwarten, die Sie von uns erhalten.